I have had a couple requests to re-blog about my brother, Michael, recently. When I found out that today is “National Sibling Day”… I knew today was the day!! Love you, Mike… xoxo

live happy

down syndrome love my broYes.  I sure do.

We are the “bookends” in our family; Michael and I.  I’m the oldest of seven at 51… Mike’s the youngest at 27.  Michael was born about a year after I got married.  I grew up in St. Louis, but had moved to Kansas City after college, so the two of us never actually had a chance to “grow up together”.  But there is now good news.  Really good news for me.  My mom, dad and Michael are moving to Kansas City.  To say that I am excited does not even begin to touch the surface of what I am feeling. Just typing that fills my eyes with tears. There is just so much time to make up for… andI absolutely cannot wait!!!

Late night munchies...Mike Mom Dad Formal night

Mike loves dessertdown syndrome nuff said

Mike in headphonesMike dancing

Poem: “Welcome to Holland” by Emily Perl Kingsley

November 12, 2008

I am often asked to describe the experience of raising a child with a disability…

View original post 611 more words

